DJ Schedule Saturday 11/19 I Love Vinyl @ Louie & Chan 10:00 p.m.–4:00 a.m. 303 Broome Street NYC
Monday 11/21 Friends @ Kinfolk 8:00 p.m.–1:00 a.m. 90 Wythe Ave, BK 11211

Archive for June, 2014

Song of the Day: “All About The Art” by Dayne Jordan

DJ Jazzy Jeff posted this song by Dayne Jordan (Philadelphia) to his soundcloud as a free download June 10th. I first heard and unsuccessfully tried to Shazam this song when I heard it at the end of one of Jeff’s “Vinyl Destination” episodes a few months back. Music by Jazzy Jeff, James Poyser and Questlove. You can also hear it on my guest mix for Beats For Change which came out this past Friday.

Beats For Change Show #27 – The Change Heroes Mix featuring Jon Oliver

I was honored to contribute a guest mix to the Beats For Change mix series that highlights different social issues. Quoting them:

This time our social dedication goes out to an amazing social concept called Change Heroes which is a website and technology that let’s social groups of friends easily come together and raise $10,000 to build a school in a developing country as they say “Raise $10,000 from your laptop or phone to empower hundreds of children with education.” Learn more about them here:

Sam Zipursky from Beats for Change plays the first set and introduces Change Heroes and my set comes up around the 50 minute mark. Art by Marvin Bruin who you might also know as Pandaboy, a Rotterdam-based producer who’s tracks have been featured several times on The Main Ingredient.

1st Set – Sam Zipursky | Beats for Change |
Change Heroes Intro
Hawk House-Chill Pill (Experiment 2)
Moka Only – On and On Citizen
Rippy Austin – Never Say Never MASTER
Georgia Anne Muldrow – Pad Control
Afta-1 – Toast to Them (Instrumental)
Moses Sumney – Plastic
Kirkis – Mirror
Daniel Crawford – Your Guess Is As Good As Mine
Cascade Records x Darker Than Wax – Trian Kayhatu
Beyond Luck – Take you on a trip Ft. Myrna Zapatero
Byron the Aquarius – Prelude of 808′s
Carlos Mena-Drawn To Her (Yoruba Soul Mix)
Kenny Keys Unrealeased Beat tapes
Kenny Keys Unrealeased Beat tapes
Joey Purp – Don’t Stop
Vic Mensa – Orange Soda

2nd Set – Jon Oliver | The Main Ingredient |
Taylor McFerrin – Decisions featuring Emily King
M. Constant – Us Tempenauts
Illum Sphere – Near The End
Tourist – Patterns featuring Lianne La Havas
Bunny On Acid – It’s On featuring Amp Fiddler
Jesse Boykins III – Plain
Sampha – Shades
Herbert – The Audience
JMSN – Love & Pain (Kaytranada Remix)
Natural Sequence – Here At Last featuring Muc J
Thavius Beck – Atmos
Dayne Jordan – All About The Art
Hidden Orchestra – Spoken (Submerse Remix)

Song of the Day: “Mike Black (John Wizards Remix)” by Mo Kolours

Mo Kolours (England) released this single May 25th on One Handed Music. The original version of “Mike Black” is on his self-titled debut album. More on John Wizards here.

Song of the Day: “Love&YourImagination” by Bläp Dëli

Bläp Dëli (California) released his debut album Whispër​.​Më, which contains this little slice of magic, June 1st on Pragmatic Theory.

The Main Ingredient Radio Show – Episode #259 (June 24, 2014)

The Main Ingredient Radio Show – Episode #259 (June 24, 2014)
the sugazz – desillusions (
mark de clive-lowe – ghaziya (
alex barck & stee downes – who do you love? (
jamie xx – all under one roof raving (
galaxians – skydive (
floating points – king bromeliad (
lost midas – head games featuring audris (
little dragon – pink cloud (seven four/republic)
pell – morning light (
asher roth – parties at the disco featuring zz ward (
jaw gems – storm (
ad bourke – cosmic dust (
lone – restless city (
afta-1 – how eye (instrumental) (
josé james – while you were sleeping (
chrome sparks – cosmic claps of love (
strawberry jam – lot more livin (
m&o – house (
badbadnotgood – hedron (
rudi zygadlo – lily (rz records)
baron rétif & concepción perez – where’s my soul (instrumental) (
taylor mcferrin – florasia (
me’shell ndegéocello – tom (
lee fields – all i need (
aurra – somebody (dam-funk remix) (
hidden orchestra – seven hunters (dam mantle remix) (

The Main Ingredient is a weekly radio show (formerly of East Village Radio – R.I.P.) presenting brand new soulful underground music from around the world and interviews with the artists making it, recorded live in Harlem NYC. Listen anytime at

Song of the Day: “Secrets Seem Rehearsed” by Diggs Duke

Diggs Duke (Washington, DC) has a new EP titled The Upper Hand & Other Grand Illusions coming out July 7th on Brownswood.

Song of the Day: “Waiting On You” by Mom Tudie & Tom Misch

Mom Tudie (London) posted this track to his soundcloud on March 27th. [via dee phunk]

Song of the Day: “It’s On” by Bunny On Acid featuring Amp Fiddler

Bunny On Acid (Jerusalem, Israel) released his Are You A Rainbow EP May 5th on Studio Rockers.

Beats For Change Show #27

Just turned this mix in, should be coming out next week. Check out, they do mixes with custom illustrations to highlight different social causes. Each one features a guest DJ. This will be #27. “Using the power of music for social awareness and change.”

The Main Ingredient Radio Show – Episode #258 (June 17, 2014)

The Main Ingredient Radio Show – Episode #258 (June 17, 2014)
dayne jordan – all about the art (
myron & e – do it do it disco (j rocc re-edit) (
asher roth – be right featuring major myjah (ingrooves)
b.j. smith – prototype (
m&o – it was the song featuring donnie trumpet (
little dragon – underbart (seven four/republic)
mom tudie & tom misch – waiting on you (
michael jackson – love never felt so good (original version) (epic)
brownout – planet caravan (
jaw gems – pitch bend (
fs green – warrior featuring skinto (
norvisjr – do kno that… (
the celestics – old news (hw&w
blu – red & gold featuring prodigy, mitchy slick & phil da agony (
lee fields – standing by your side (
quantic – you will return featuring alice russell (
sorceress fka funkommunity – teacups (
pharrell – frontin’ featuring jay-z (disclosure remix) (
sylvan esso – play it right (
abimaro and the free – mark (flashbaxx remix) (
alfa & emmavie – easily, i forget (
ambient jazz ensemble – the journey (
oceaán – your side (
elderbrook – going (
bill withers w/studio rio – lovely day (sony legacy)
lil’ john roberts – space featuring eric roberson, stokely, anthony david and musiq soulchild (starburst / nia)
chet faker – gold (
fatima – gave me my name (

The Main Ingredient is a weekly radio show (formerly of East Village Radio – R.I.P.) presenting brand new soulful underground music from around the world and interviews with the artists making it, recorded live in Harlem NYC. Listen anytime at

Search this website